Dining with Lesbians

A bowl of personal identity served with blueberry pie

Red Hot Chili Peppers

No, not the band but the actual chili. Just when I thought I couldn’t take the heat, I popped one into my mouth and, oh wow, it wasn’t too bad!

It’s fun trying new things and I’ve always kept myself open to never heard of experiences. But then again I’m a very cautious person and I guess I’ve been limiting myself to new experiences that were within my comfort zone. And, worse yet, my comfort zone has been shrinking with the number of years going by. So in fact, though I wish I were, I’m really not that adventurous.

But this year, having moved to Taiwan, I’ve had a renewed sense of taking on new things. I think it’s because I don’t feel like I’m bounded by so many values and stares that I’m so unconsciously afraid of as when I was in Hong Kong. In a way, I’ve never felt comfortable in Hong Kong or anywhere else and I’ve been dreading that feeling for years. But now, I’m embracing the feeling of being the odd one out because I figure there’s no way I’m going to blend in seamlessly with my accent and weird look so I might as well enjoy it.  So with fewer and fewer invisible chains around my neck, I’m going to pop a red hot chili pepper into my mouth!

2 comments on “Red Hot Chili Peppers

  1. rebbit7
    July 2, 2015

    Dang, chili peppers?! I can’t tolerate very spicy things, so props to you! It’s great that you’re venturing out and trying new things. 🙂

    Like

    • nmwords
      July 2, 2015

      It’s actually not that bad, I was surprised myself, so you never know until you try!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2015 by in Energy, Hong Kong, Identity, Taiwan and tagged , , , , , , .

Blogs I Follow

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

theoutlife

your are enough

Let's Queer Things Up!

Talking trans identity, mental health, and more.

Tam is Trans*

A journey through the experiences I deal with on a daily basis

The Flannel Files

Rae Theodore's BUTCH blog about living in the middle of girl/boy

Haven Pursuer

On the pursuit of happiness and acceptance

GAY ASIA NEWS

MAKING SURE YOU ARE INFORMED

The Essence of Pride...

From a Lesbian's Perspective

The Finicky Cynic

Sharp as a needle ~ Scathing as a razor blade ~ Welcome to my world.

